All I Need

2 Corinthians 4:16-18
“Do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.”

Several years ago the Lord brought me through a study on suffering in 1 Peter. Through the weeks I was learning and praying through this passage, I had such a strong feeling that the Lord was about to do something big. We learn so much more through experience than just reading. So, I knew the Lord was about to take me through a time of suffering. I was nervous about the unknown, but also excited at the same time because I felt like I was “ready”.

Little did I know what would happen during the following 6 months. God had big plans. Bigger than I ever could have been “ready” for. I lost a lot and then gained so much at the same time. I saw sorrow and blessing happen right next to each other.

sad

But it was still hard to worship God at times. I had to remind myself, moment by moment, that the Lord was in control and He was all I needed.

Recently I purchased a new album by the artists Shane & Shane. I’ve loved their music for a long time because it’s so rich in Truth. They have a song on their newest album (Bring Your Nothing) about suffering. I’m once again reminded of my need to cry out to my Savior in suffering.

If you haven’t seen their most recent music video of this song, with an excerpt from John Piper, you need to…

Though You Slay Me

I come, God, I come
I return to the Lord
The one who’s broken
The one who’s torn me apart
You struck down to bind me up
You say You do it all in love
That I might know You in Your suffering

Though You slay me

Yet I will praise You
Though You take from me
I will bless Your name
Though You ruin me
Still I will worship
Sing a song to the one who’s all I need

My heart and flesh may fail

The earth below give way
But with my eyes, with my eyes I’ll see the Lord
Lifted high on that day
Behold, the Lamb that was slain
And I’ll know every tear was worth it all

Though You slay me

Yet I will praise You
Though You take from me
I will bless Your name
Though You ruin me
Still I will worship
Sing a song to the one who’s all I need

Though tonight I’m crying out

Let this cup pass from me now
You’re still all that I need
You’re enough for me
You’re enough for me

Though You slay me

Yet I will praise You
Though You take from me
I will bless Your name
Though You ruin me
Still I will worship
Sing a song to the one who’s all I need
Sing a song to the one who’s all I need
This entry was posted in God's lessons learned. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

