Serving the Lord…fervently

As the days/weeks draw near to baby #2 being here, I’m daily being challenged with my role as a mother.  Having one child has been a huge change in my life and one that I was not entirely prepared for.  I made a lot of sacrifices and adjustments, but I came to realize they were mostly with selfish motivations.  And then…I got pregnant again.  The Lord always knows how to challenge and motivate me.  And it’s often not at all what I expect.

Throughout the past 10 months, I have learned how to serve my husband and my son in ways that I’ve never known.  The simple things in life have become far more complicated. The things I use to enjoy doing to serve my husband have vanished from my everyday life.    So, how do I serve anymore, when I feel like all I’m doing is exhausting myself just to function?

My sink full of love…

A friend recently wrote a blog about Colossians 3:17-24

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. Wives, submit to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord. Husbands, love your wives, and do not be harsh with them. Children, obey your parents in everything, for this pleases the Lord. Fathers, do not provoke your children, lest they become discouraged. Bondservants, obey in everything those who are your earthly masters, not by way of eye-service, as people-pleasers, but with sincerity of heart, fearing the Lord. Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ.

She challenged us with the words, “Not by way of eye service as people pleasers but with sincerity of heart, fearing the Lord.”  My service to my husband and family have merely been to please them and convince myself that I am a good wife and mother.  I don’t necessarily expect complements, but I want to be the woman my husband brags to others about.  I rarely ever think about my service to the Lord.

Which is why I painted Romans 12:11 on a piece of barn wood and hung it in our living room awhile back. “Do not be slothful in zeal, be fervent in spirit, serve the Lord.”  I want to have zeal in everything I do…including serving my family.  I want to have a passion to work heartily as for the Lord, not for myself, and not for my family.  The only way I will reach this point in my life, is if I’m serving the Lord first.

This entry was posted in God's lessons learned. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Serving the Lord…fervently

  1. Jen Perkins says:

    …and the verse that follows that is verse 12…Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Loved your post!

  2. Kristin says:

    i’m glad i can learn from you steph. i really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

